Race report – Gamma Racing Day TT Circuit Assen

A chaotic starting procedure of the first Nolte Küchen NK HTGT race led to a red flag situation. The second attempt was slightly less chaotic, only Martin Bijleveld and Egbert Kolvoort incurring a penalty for jumping the start. The Corvettes Grand Sport of Allard K. and Kaj Dahlbacka took off at the front, followed by Roeland Voerman (Corvette Stingray) who was soon put under pressure by Bob Stevens (Lotus Elan). When Stevens dropped back after a spin it was Tom Kuiper (Corvette Stingray) who took over the attack. Voerman then retired, after which there was a short safety car interlude. This became Dahlbacka’s downfall, het overtook a backmarker and was given a time penalty. This promoted Tom Kuiper to second. The Safety Car brought Bob Stevens within striking distance of Roelant de Waard (Shelby Mustang) and Jos Stevens (Lotus Elan). With a couple of nice overtaking manoeuvres he clawed his way back to fourth. Martin Bijleveld (Ford Falcon) was first of the touring cars from Rob Rappange (Mini Cooper). Sjoerd Peereboom won GTS11 in his MGB. In the “novice class” Ed van Dijk (Jaguar E-type) got the better of Hemmo Vriend (Ford Falcon) this time, while behind them Sandro Hubar drove a solid debut race in his Alfa Romeo GTA.

A grey morning with a very slight drizzle made the going treacherous for the Sunday race at the Assen TT track. Michiel Campagne powered away at the start in his Corvette Grand Sport, but Andy Newall (Jaguar E-type) used every last bit of grip he could find to pass him, the pair swapping positions several times. After a short Safety Car interlude to tow Kenneth Persson’s stranded GT40 away, the pair resumed battle and Newall managed to eke out a small gap. In third was Kaj Dahlbacka (Corvette Grand sport), while fourth was disputed by Tom Kuiper (Corvette Stingray) and Bob Stevens (Lotus Elan). Stevens needed several attempts before finally making a successful pass. Bas Jansen (Ford Mustang) won the touring car class from Roel Korsten (Mustang) and Jaap van der Ende (Ford Falcon), while Jasper Izaks was fastest of the Mini Coopers. Frans van Maarschalkerwaart (Shelby Mustang), Roelant de Waard (Shelby Mustang) and Armand Adriaans (Corvette) had a great scrap, which de Waard won in the end. GTS11 went to lucky Erwin van Lieshout (Porsche 911), after Sjoerd Peereboom spun his MGB.

All results: https://raceresults.nu/Results/organisator/2020?evenement=TT-Circuit+Assen&race=GAMMA+Racing+Day+2020